annegeluna's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the silk curtain

Last night I slept lightly. One of those nights where I am asleep and dreaming and the dreams seem very close to the surface; almost as if there is a floor to ceiling silk curtain between the two worlds and I am able to see very clear glimpses into the dream world as the curtain billows in a soft breeze. Often these dreams seem very real and include people I know, places I've been, situations I've found myself in and/or experiences I'm not expecting to be pleasant. I wouldn't call them bad dreams but life dreams - opportunities to learn and grow with small doses of discomfort, sadness or hesitation thrown into the mix. These silk curtain dreams, while somewhat unsettling, can sometimes provide me with the perfect opportunity to direct my dream. It doesn't happen all of the time but when it does it is very powerful. At some point in my dream last night I took charge and turned a lonely and uninspiring situation into a strong and healthy one, full of space for individuality, creativity and respect. And out of that appeared a relationship of true caring.

We were at my simple apartment which was arranged perfectly for me to live and create. He had a portfolio of incredible portraits he had taken of people on buses. I spent a long time looking at the photos and asking him about the work. When I reached the end I noticed a small fur-covered portfolio tucked into the back pocket. I asked, "What's this?" and he answered, "It's yours - I keep it with me." And I didn't even have to open it to know that what he said was true. We had given each other the space to create, and although it meant less time together, in doing so we became closer. We inspired each other to be ourselves, to experience life, to grow individually and to share our experiences with each other and the world around us through our art.

I woke up feeling empowered, which is a feeling I've been experiencing a lot lately in my life. It feels good to make choices in that move me in new directions both in my dream world and while fully awake.

10:05 a.m. - 2006-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

simplify
evany