annegeluna's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tell us how you really feel

I was going to write about my frustration with my downstairs neighbor's gardening habits; how after i spent an entire Sunday cleaning up the front garden, clearing the weeds from the cracks in the sidewalk, planting a few new plants and planning what and where I would plant a few more next payday, he spent yesterday planting bright flowers in that very space. Yesterday was a very long, tiring day in a week of long, tiring days and after running to catch the last ferry I sat out on the deck taking in the fresh air and warm sunlight, which completely defused the crying jag I could feel coming on when I left the office. As I pull up in front of the house, I was so very happy to be home and was looking forward to a family hug. I start walking across the street and notice it right away: new plants in the front garden and the dreaded pink flower clashing against the beautiful dodonea with it's gorgeous leaves of deep red and dark green. I tried to talk myself through the anger and frustration that came to the surface immediately but I couldn't help thinking, "Wait! We do all the hard work and you get to have the fun of planting? That is not ok and I have to draw the line there." Of course, this is familiar - we had the same situation last year. I walk into the house trying to tell myself "there just flowers, it doesn't matter, he likes to garden too" and the minute I see Bryan I let it all out. He listens, walks outside to take a look (how did he not notice?!) and then we agree to talk with our neighbor this weekend to explain how we feel. The front garden is the first garden we created together. When we first moved in we covered it with black plastic to kill the weeds. We worked on a design together, Bryan created a beautiful walkway and I finally got to choose plants that I had fallen in love with in my plant id classes. We used a pick axe for hours every weekend, pulling up as many deep weed roots as we could. When we finally got to the fun part of planting, about six months after we pulled up the plastic, we had a blast. That evening as the sun was setting, we toasted each other with martinis and looked at our garden we created with our own four hands. It's very, very special to us. And it's kind of like our resume. A few friends have asked if we could help them with their gardens after seeing our front garden and looking at the before and after pictures. So, the bottom line is, he can have certain areas of the garden but the front is off limits.

Look at that, I ended up bitching about the situation anyway when I really wanted to not dwell on it and instead write about my little family here and how lucky I am. Last night Bryan made a delicious dinner of seared scallops in a wine/orange sauce on a bed of warm spinach leaves sprinkled with feta cheese and pecans. It was incredibly delicious and he plated it up so beautifully I felt l ike I was at a restaurant. He paired it with a heavenly bottle of white wine. I'm a lucky woman!

When I wake up in the morning I get the best family hug. I hear Bryan in the other room click his tongue againt the roof of his mouth and then I heard Madgi's little feet tapping through the house. He picks her up and they come into the room and stand by the bed. I sit up and hug them and we give each other kisses. I love waking up in this house with those two! Sometimes my bladder demands that I get up before they come in and that's funny because usually I suprise Madge and she arches her back and fluffs up her tail before she realizes it's just me. Funny cat.

In a minute here Bryan will sit down on the chaise lounge to put on his shoes and he will click his tongue. Madgi will run to him and rub around his legs before she sits behind her plant and pulls off a few bits of leaf and spits it out.

We have some fun times here at Rancho Relaxo!

7:10 a.m. - 2006-05-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

simplify
evany