annegeluna's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

again with the plants

So, imagine this . . . it's Friday morning, exactly one week before the office move, and I'm sitting at my desk typing away when an email message pops up with the subject line "Plants and Flowers in the New Office". With a sense of doom, I open the email and read that it has been decided that plants and flowers will not be allowed in the secretarial stations and other open administration areas in the new office to protect furniture and carpets.


I KNOW! I spend 5 days a week, 7 hours each day (which I'm thankful for - most offices are 8) sitting at my desk behind a computer and my only connection to the world outside is my plants. When I'm using the phone, I look at all the new growth on my ficus. I have a new orchid that is thriving and I check it often for any sign of a second bloom. My jade plant is getting big and the new growth is entirely different than the new growth on the ficus. I water my plants every Friday before I leave for the weekend and it's become a comforting ritual. My boss has been giving me and the two secretaries I sit next to a bouquet of flowers to split up among us to brighten up our desks and the hallway and lots of people walking by have commented that it's nice to see fresh flowers in the office.

I thought to myself, "this is just too important - I have to speak up." Right away I typed up a reply email explaining that my plants help keep me grounded and that I know others feel the same way and can the policy be amended so that we can have plants on our desktops but not on the marble counters above our desks. One other secretary sent an email agreeing and made the suggestion that the firm make it mandatory that all plants have protection, like a plant condom. Shortly after the email exchanges another email came out amending the policy and allowing plants on the desktops.

The hippy chick in me is very happy. Now we just need to sit and chat with our neighbor tomorrow and all will be right in my plant world.

Gotta go - heading to Napa for Slide West!

And last night we saw Scary Movie 4 - it cracked my shit up.

11:19 a.m. - 2006-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

simplify
evany