annegeluna's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

funnies

While reading the police blotter in the Alameda Sun Hometown News section I ran across these:

Wednesday, May 31
Two ID thefts: at 12:56 p.m. IN TURKEY; and at 2:25 p.m. on the 1600 block of Eagle Avenue

Thursday, June 1
Altering an IMITATION gun (removing orange caps from a toy gun) reported at 8:30 p.m . on the 2000 block of Mayport Circle.

Sunday, June 4
Missing person reported at 6:05 p.m. on San Jose Avenue, address disclosed. Missing person AT RISK risk reported at 10:13 p.m. on the 500 block of Santa Clara Avenue.

and the ever-present

Annoying phone calls reported at 9:07 a.m. on the 1300 block of High Street.

I was just thinking, there isn't a funnies section of the paper - I guess because the police blotter can be pretty funny. I mean really, can you imagine the above-phone calls? And about the annoying phone calls thing, this is always, always in the blotter. Probably because Alameda is full of kids, probably making prank calls.

Every issue of the Sun shows a photo of a reader or readers holding the paper in some exotic place (this week two gentlemen were visiting their grandmother in Morocco) with a caption underneath explaining who they are and where the "sun shines". We thought it would be funny to go stand in front of the Sun's office and take a photo of us right in front of the big sign to send in to the paper.

Last night was project night at the school and I called Bryan from BART to tell him I was on my way home. He asked how the open house was and I told him I learned alot about Lemurs from a 5th grade student. I explained how she studied the lemur habitat at the SF Zoo, then researched the lemurs' natural habitat and wrote a letter to the zoo recommending ways the zoo could make the habitat more comfortable for the lemurs. Bryan said, "like building a wall?" After a few seconds of thought I asked, "how would that help?" and he replied, "you know, a leaner needs a strong wall." It took me a minute but then I was cracking up! Can you just picture a zoo enclosure full of leaners?!

7:08 a.m. - 2006-06-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

simplify
evany