annegeluna's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

commute thoughts

My car is ill and we�ve decided to hold off on directing any cash flow in that direction since I usually only drive it to the ferry terminal and back so I�ve been exploring other transportation possibilities for the last week or so. I�ve been taking the very clean, comfortable and quiet AC Transit direct bus into SF in the morning and catching the ferry and then a bus home in the evening. I find that I�m enjoying my commute in the morning which consists of a short walk through the park to the bus stop where I board the bus, pay $3.50 and settle into a comfortable window seat. I usually daydream and look out the window at the homes and gardens on our short trip through Alameda and then read or write once we get in the tube until we reach the bridge and then I resume daydreaming and looking out the window. It�s particularly nice right now because I just started reading The Memory Keeper�s Daughter which is very good and also because I can watch the progression of the building of the new span of the bridge. I do miss my morning ferry commute because I love seeing the birds and feeling the warmth of the sun so my plan is to catch a bus to the ferry eventually. It�s a bit earlier than I�m used to just yet.

While I was waiting for the bus yesterday, and again this morning, I watched the casual carpool stop across the street from the bus stop and wondered about catching a ride since it was free. I�ve done it once before but I have to say, it goes against everything I was taught as a I child - don�t get in a car with a stranger. I know it�s silly but it makes me a little nervous. I guess I�m not the only one because most of the time the second person gets into the backseat rather than sitting in front with the driver so the third person takes that seat and off they go. The one time I took a ride I waited for a few cars to go by before a woman in a nice car drove up and then, not knowing the �rules� about getting in the back I got in the front and said good morning. Another woman jumped in the backseat shortly after I got in and we started our trip. I ended up chatting with the driver who was very nice while the woman in the backseat Filed Her Nails! Can you even believe that? Anyway, everything turned out fine. The driver really was going to SF and she wasn�t a horrible driver or strange in any way but I haven�t taken a ride since. I keep wondering if I should be a good commuter and do the carpool thing, especially since it�s free, but I think I�ll stick with my quiet time for now.

When I opened my fortune cookie and read the fortune �You believe in the goodness of mankind.� I thought it was mostly true but I must have wanted to remind myself because it�s taped to the top of the monitor as I type this entry. Funny

5:03 p.m. - 2006-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

simplify
evany